Pinoy Mathletes Victorious in Australia

by Audrey Lim Tan

Gold Coast, AUSTRALIA – Amidst the warnings of bushfires in Australia, 57 students trooped to the land down under and brought home 4 Gold medals, 7 Silver Medals, 19 Bronze Medals and 27 Merit Awards during the 2020 Southeast Asian Mathematical Olympiad Extended Round (SEAMO X).

Now on its 2nd year of holding international rounds, SEAMO X is the extension or final round of the SEAMO (South East Asian Mathematical Olympiad) which was held in 18 countries around the world on September 2019.  Medalists of the SEAMO 2019 competition were then invited to join the extended round held Gold Coast, Australia from January 17 to 20, 2020.

The competition took place at Dreamworld Convention Hall where 600 students from 10 countries namely Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Myanmar, Uzbekistan, Australia, and the Philippines were welcomed by SEAMO Co-Founder and Chief Examiner Mr. Terry Chew (Singapore), and SEAMO Executive Director, Mr. Roy Lo (Indonesia).

The competition is open to students in Grades 1 to 12.  The written paper consists of 15 non-routine real world Mathematics problems that requires the use of critical thinking skills.

Awarding took place at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Center where students and their parents were treated to a sit-down dinner and awards presentation.  The Philippine team was led by Ms. Gina Guerra of the Mathematics Trainers’ Guild (MTG), Philippines.  MTG is the Country Partner of SEAMO in the Philippines.

Below is the full list of winners:

Felinwright Ninokyle Mesias                            Salaman Central Elementary School
Zion Skye Earl Carmelo Uy                              Ateneo de Manila Grade School
Joaquin Gabriel Malachi Antonio de Castro     Xavier School
Oniluv Troy Tabujara                                        Ateneo de Manila Senior High School

Ibarra Lee Coro                             De La Salle Santiago Zobel School
Angela Clare Lim Tan                   Tarlac Living Faith Academy
Hezekiah Etian Sagayaga              University of the Philippines Integrated School
Miguel Justino Ladion                   Paref Springdale School
Juliana Elisha Go                           Tarlac Living Faith Academy
Sebastien Albert Castro                 Colegio de San Agustin
Daniel Dave Cruz                          Pasig City Science High School

Andrea Ancheta                            De La Salle Santiago Zobel School
Javier Sandrino Reyes                  De La Salle Santiago Zobel School
Jazeil Moira Nicolas                     Colegio de San Agustin - Binan
Vlade Montgomery Guillermo     St. Peter the Apostle School
Emilio Javier Uysipuo                  Xavier School
Feivel Pulusan                              Hope Christian High School
Hans Bentley Sio                          Kong Hua School
Karlo Francisco Sur                      City Central School
Enrique Alonso Pioquinto            De La Salle Santiago Zobel School
Kailyn Jian Tan                              Immaculate Conception Academy
Magnus Rex Navarro                     Ateneo de Manila University
Naomi Rachael Pascual                 Saint Pedro Poveda College
Rohan Gerard Herrera                   Ateneo de Manila University
Sean Omar Francisco                    Colegio San Agustin - Makati
Sean Pio Derrick Angeles             Xavier School
Wilhelm Colin Barcenas                Ateneo de Davao University
Isabela Gabrielle Lomibao             Philippine Science High School - Main Campus
Kyle Xander Flor Co                      Bethany Christian School
Kelgie Andrew Ong                       Ateneo de Manila University

Francis Deinmel Legaspi              SPED Center for the Gifted - Kalayaan SBFZ
Lucas Antoine Aldave                  De La Salle Santiago Zobel School
Paul Anderson Ongchan               Chiang Kai Shek College
Tristha Ayischa Tolentino             St. Paul University Tuguegarao
Ayeka Belle Yamagishi                 Elizabeth Seton School
Bryce Nicolas Chua Chan             Xavier School
Ciara Kelzie Gudoy                       Miriam College Quezon City
Daniel Jehremiah Asis                   The Bridge School
David Liam Tan                             Xavier School
Dylan Koji Roxas-Chua                Xavier School
Ethan Bryan See                            Oro Christian Grace School
Ian Sean Uy                                   Xavier School
Jared Christian Cruz                      Xavier School
John Iain Inigo Aguada                 De La Salle Santiago Zobel School
Kean Riley Go Tong                     Xavier School
Kenzie Timothy Ong                    De La Salle Santiago Zobel School
Simon Jovir Acelar                       Ateneo de Davao University
Zachary Isberto                             Xavier School
Aegean Noah Nakila                     MSA Whiz Kids Academy
Elizabeth Joanne King                 Bethany Christian School
Kai Wyn Uy                                 Xavier School
Kara Victoria Chua                      Immaculate Conception Academy
Venisce Elisha Rodriguez            La Marea Academy
Andrei Geline Ziganay                Holy Child Catholic School
Mil Gerard Tancawan                  Xavier University Junior High School
Gerard Aurellano                         Philippine Science High School - Bicol Region Campus
Maria Elianna Tutor                     St. Paul College Pasig


Popular posts from this blog

MathDAP welcomes over 500 challengers to the summer training

MathDAP challengers have to start their online registration

Siaco, a Judenite tops in 2020 AIMO