PH wins 22 medals in CFM, Thailand

The Philippines' top wizards have proven anew their numerical acumen by winning 22 medals and other major awards in the 2016 Challenge for Future Mathematicians held in Nakornnayok, Thailand on October 28-31, 2016.

Garnering a total of 4 gold, 8 silver and 10 bronze medals in the individual contest, the Philippine team also won a championship title in the team contest.

The gold medals were courtesy of John David Magnaye, Grade 5, from Holy Rosary Academy Of Las PiƱas City; Bryce Ainsley Sanchez, Grade 8, from Grace Christian College; Immanuel Josiah A. Balete, Grade 8, from St. Stephen’s High School and Aiman Andrei U. Kue, Grade 8, from Zamboanga Chong Hua High School.

The silver medalists were Francisco S. Angeles Jr., Grade 4, Mother Goose Special School System Inc.; Tracy Lauren Teo Lei, Grade 4, St. Jude Catholic School; Rovi Gabriel L. Dela Cruz, Grade 5, Pasig Catholic College; Theodore D. Abara, Grade 5, La Salle Greenhills; Shawn Darren S. Chua, Grade 7, MGC New Life Christian Academy; Dominic Lawrence R. Bermudez, Grade 7, Philippine Science High School – Main Campus; Annika Angela Mei B. Tamayo, Grade 7, Ateneo De Iloilo – Sta. Maria; and Stephen James L. Ty, Grade 8, Zamboanga Chong Hua High School

This year’s bronze medalists were Miguel I. Cayetano, grade 4, Tuguegarao West Elementary School; Alyssa Corrine T. Llantero, Grade 4, De La Salle University Integrated School; Ashley Nicole Uygongco, Grade 4, Hua Siong College Of Iloilo, Franz Achilles C. Lindayag, Grade 4, Ateneo de Davao University; Alexander Benedict C. Bulloso, Grade 5, De La Salle Lipa; Ambrose James G. Torreon, Grade 5, Rainbow Of Angels Learning Center, Inc.; Krsytal O. Lim Tiong Soon, Grade 5, Grace Christian College; Jerome Samuel D. Tan, Grade 5, Makati Hope Christian School; Mico Xander DC. Rubico, Grade 5, Morning Star Montessori School Inc. and Vanessa Ryanne G. Julio, Grade 7, St. Jude Catholic School. Furthermore, Alexandra Louis R. Chan, Grade 3 from Zamboanga Chong Hua High School won a merit award.

The Philippine team A composed of Sanchez, Balete, Kue and Chua was adjudged as the champion and the overall champion in the Junior High School division.

The 2016 Challenge for Future Mathematicians drew participants from Thailand, Vietnam, Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Macau, and India.

The PH team through the Mathematics Development Academy of the Philippines (MathDAP) was spearheaded by following officials Dr. Eduardo Dela Cruz (adviser), Dr. Achieval Rodriguez (president), Mr. James Kelvin Martin (auditor) and Mrs. Ruthee Rodriguez.


Popular posts from this blog

MathDAP welcomes over 500 challengers to the summer training

MathDAP challengers have to start their online registration

Siaco, a Judenite tops in 2020 AIMO