Filipino mathlete claims 'star of Asia' and 'grade champion' awards

The Philippine team composed of 59 math wizards collected medals and awards, reaping a total of 5 gold, 9 silver, 28 bronze medals and 17 merit awards from the 2012 Asia International Mathematics Olympiad held in Hong Kong on July 28 to August 1, 2012.

Lu Christian S. Ong of Grace Christian College, a gold medalist, was proclaimed as the 'grade champion' for earning the highest score among the participants from 9 countries in Grade 9 Division. He also received the title 'star of Asia' for his remarkable performance.

Joining this year's roster of gold medalists were Sterling Alvin K. Tiu, Grade 9 of St. Stephen's High School, Natalia M. Varela, Grade 8 of St. Paul College, Pasig, Thamania Keith C. Gumilao, Grade 7, of Pasig Catholic College and Anchelle Grace O. Ho, Grade 7 of Silliman University SBE High School.

The Filipino math wizards who claimed the country's 9 silver medals were Deanne Rochelle L. Abdao, Grade 7, Philippine Science High School; Anton Raphael U. Lim, Grade 7, St. John's Institute; Norman Earl B. Morado, Grade 7, Philippines Science High School- SMC; Floriza C. Andaya, Grade 8, First Asia Institute of Technology and Humanities ; Michelle Marie T. Ochoa, Grade 8, St. Paul College-Pasig, Akkiara Simon May Z. Sawali, Grade 7, St. Augustine's School; Justin Bryan C. Chong, Grade 9, Grace Christian College; Ed Joshua G. Mañalac, Grade 9, Baguio City National High School; and Philip C. Lizarda, Grade 9, San Beda College.

This time winning bronze medals were the Karli C. Ang, Grade 9, Philippine Institute of Quezon City; Ian John M. Antonio, Grade 9, Palawan State University Laboratory HS; Richard Manuel S. De Castro, Grade 9, Ligao National High School; Mark John T. Dy, Grade 9, Pangasinan Universal Institute; Marc Louie T. Magallanes, Grade 9, Negros Occidental National Science HS; Emmanuel Joseph M. Magnaye, Grade 9, Taguig Science High School; Himig S. Marcos, Grade 9, Philippine Cultural College; Rachel G. Rojo, Grade 9, Zamboanga Chong Hua High School; Karla Dominique P. Tiu, Grade 9, Davao Central High School; Marianne V. Cruz, Grade 8, Agoo Kiddie Special School; Joshua P. Cuballes, Grade 8, Sen. Renato Companero Cayetano M. S & Tech HS; and Francis Rumen D. Parungao, Grade 8 Manila Science High School.

The Grade 7 bronze medalists were Viq Ashley G. Alentajan of Canumay West National High School; Justine Myles P. Alquiza of St. Paul College of Ilocos Sur; James Christian Q. Atilano, of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School; Ralph Gerarld R. Black of  Baguio City National High School; Al Matthew B. Canafe of Tabacco National High School; Razell Jigs P. Caraig, of Aquinas University Legazpi - High School; Sabrina Rae C. Chan of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School; Jan Ver Dominic J. Edra of De La Salle - Lipa; Marie Pauline S. Ferrer of Dee Hwa Liong Academy; Ralph Joseph N. Lacuna of Aquinas University Legazpi - High School, Chesca Angelica H. Lazara of Quantum Academy Inc.; Katrina M. Maniulit of Philippine Institute of Quezon City; Engelica V. Perez of First Asia Institute of Technology and Humanities; Roy Matthew  M. Ramos of Manila Science High School; Mary Joyce G. Tan of Philippine Cultural College Caloocan; and Jade Kathleen F. Yu of Valenzuela City Science High School.

The merit awardees were Gian Carlo I. Alix, Grade 9, San Beda College Alabang; Jone Zelita Orlina, Grade 9, Ramon Teves Pastor Memorial-Dumaguete Science HS; Jerome Vincent L Tagaro, Grade 8, UP Rural High School; Rodwick Matthew T. Go, Grade 8, St. Stephen's High School; Patricia Marie G. Yap, Grade 8, Iloilo Central Commercial High School; Camille Therese D. Estampador, Grade 8 Saint Paul College, Pasig; Elijah Copla,, Grade 7, Bicol Regional Science High School; Ma. Cathyrynne Janelle B. Cua, Grade 7, Philippine Yuh Chiau School; Earl Edson D. Dumago, Grade 7, Makati Science High School, Carlos Benedict F. Echevarria, Grade 7, De La Salle Zobel School; Karljan M. Kotah, Grade 7, Philippine Cultural College; Jeremy John K. Magpantay, Grade 7, De La Salle - Canlubang; Dabin Park, Grade 7, De La Salle - Canlubang; Giorgio B. Romero, Grade 7, St. Paul University Philippines; Sam Gamaliel T. Sy, Grade 7, Jubilee Christian Academy; Ian Denzel C. Sy-Reyes, Grade 7, Aquinas University Science High School; and John Lester G. Tan, Grade 7, Dee Hwa Liong Academy.

The competition drawing hundreds participants from China, Hong, Kong, Indonesia, Macau, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan aims to simulate and foster young people’s interest in learning mathematics, strengthen the ability of their creative thinking and to provide a platform and promote the exchange and development of mathematics education between /among Asian countries.

The 59-member Philippine team was headed by Dr. Achieval Rodriguez, Director, Mathematics Development Academy of the Philippines (MDAP). Other members of the Philippine delegation were Ms. Lourdes Ballon, Mrs. Susan Ignacio, Mrs. Levita Portugal, Mr. Vhon Gesulga and Mr. Mhars Hairun. 


Popular posts from this blog

Filipino math wizards grasp 461 awards in IMOYA

Siaco, a Judenite tops in 2020 AIMO

Japan’s Ministry of Education invites PH to join the 2020 AMO